This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

a website is trying to start a remote connection

Topics: User Forum
Oct 24, 2012 at 3:12 PM
Edited Oct 24, 2012 at 3:28 PM

I have been using Terminals for 5+ years on a daily basis.  I have used it on multiple workstations I have had from WinXP sp1,2,3 and Win7 x86,64. 

Old workstation: Win7 sp1 x64 with Terminals 2.0

I recently received a new workstation. 

New workstation: Win7 sp1 x64 with Terminals 2.0

With every connection, on the new workstation, I am faced with a warning "a website is trying to start a remote connection."  If I click connect, it connects fine.  The next connection attempt at same server will throw warning again.

This did not happen on the old workstation.

If I open mstsc.exe from start menu on the new workstation and attempt to connect to server, it will connect without issue.

*edit:  I have searched thru the forum here and saw a few posts that were slightly related but none offered solutions.

Oct 24, 2012 at 9:47 PM

I believe this is due to the KB2592687 Windows update for RDP 8.0 - my Terminals just started exhibiting the same behaviour today, and I applied that update yesterday.

Oct 25, 2012 at 2:10 PM
Edited Oct 25, 2012 at 2:11 PM

I had this update installed.  I removed the update and did the required reboot.

VOILA!!!!  I am no longer being prompted.

Thank you

Dec 3, 2012 at 8:03 AM
Edited Dec 3, 2012 at 8:05 AM

But you lose the RDP Version 8 functionality :-(

I really love the new performance, like being able to view Videos over Wifi through RDP.

And what about running Terminals under windows 8?

Since we user Microsoft Products, i think we cannot just uninstall newer features, but have to find a solution to get the new features running as smooth as possible.

Did anybody check out this post:

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/w8itprosecurity/thread/1fd2f8d2-ef44-45a8-8561-7c805dfe9bb6

2x did also solve this: